cupcake decorating class

Last weekend I participated in my first cupcake decorating class with my little sister at JoAnne Fabric and Craft. My sister is planning to enroll in a culinary arts program after high school so I thought a class would be a fun way to celebrate her birthday.

I’ve also wanted to take a Wilton decorating class for a long time! I follow them on Pinterest and they are always posting amazing photos and ideas.

adventuresofabloggeradventuresofablogger2

Our instructor was fun and full of tips.

What I learned –

Making your own frosting is a must: Wilton Buttercream Frosting.

Using a coupler make tips changing a breeze!

Concentrated gel food coloring does not change the consistency of your frosting.

Most importantly I learned you must practice, practice, practice! My first attempts were not pretty but each time I tried my technique improved.

I attempted a ruffled cake that I saw found on Pinterest. It is a beautiful, pink ombre cake and I tried to replicate this in yellow. It did not turn out very good but I will live to decorate another day.

andventuresofapinner3

I highly recommend taking a cake decorating class!

Leave a Reply

