Upcycled Furniture by Adventures of a Pinner Blog
Image

upcycled furniture

Upcycling furniture has become incredibly popular! Pinterest is full of ideas and advice.If you have the painting skills and patience you can find a cheap thrift store piece and turn it into something brand new. I first tried my hand at upcycling in 2012 on this bench and I loved how it turned out.

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

I recently finished a dresser that I purchased at Goodwill. Here are the before and after shots:

upcycled furniture l Adventures of a Pinner

I’ve learned a lot, here are my tips for painting furniture:

Remove all hardware!

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

 

Prime and prime again. I used two coats of primer because I went from shiny black to semi-gloss white and I really wanted a clean white finished.

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Wipe down your piece before every new coat of primer/paint. I was painting in the garage and outside with a lot of potential for dirt and dust to land on my project. It’s important to remove all debris to achieve a smooth finish.

Spray painting your hardware is cheap way to freshen up the piece. Purchasing new hardware is another option. I was fond of the hardware on this piece and decided to give it an update with some spray paint. I love Metallic Champagne Mist by Rust-Oleum because it doubles as primer.

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Painters tape is a must have item!

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

Lastly, enlisting help makes your project more fun. Thank you for your assistance Heather and Matt (: You guys rock!

Upcycled Furniture - Adventures of a PinnerUpcycled Furniture - Adventures of a Pinner

I’d love to see your before and after shots! Share below (:

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

