crochet flower baby blanket pattern on Adventures of a Pinner Blog
Image

crochet flower baby blanket pattern

I’ve been working on this pretty flower baby blanket for a few months and I am so very excited to share it with you! I made this afghan for my friend expecting her second baby girl next month. The nursery is decorated with a pink and navy blue scheme. I think that the colors look great in this pretty flower pattern.

You can download the pattern .pdf for free from Free Patterns the skill level is average.

I used a medium weight yarn (4) by Purl Essence Yarn that I purchased at Joann Fabrics. I made a square afghan of 9 by 9 motifs. I purchased 6 skeins (2 Magenta, 2 Navy Blue, 1 Light Grey and 1 White) and I had yarn to spare. I used my favorite Bamboo Handle hook in 5 mm.

Adventures of a Pinner BlogAdventures of a Pinner Blog

floral fiesta afghan - crochet baby blanket  on Adventures of a Pinner Blogfloral fiesta afghan on Adventures of a Pinner Blog

Round 1

Make a slip knot and chain 6.

Slip stitch into the first chain to form a circle and chain 3.

Double crochet into the circle 15 times. This will give you a total of 16 stitches in the circle. Slip stitch into the first stitch (the third chain from the chain 3).

Adventures of a Pinner BlogAdventures of a Pinner Blog

Adventures of a Pinner BlogAdventures of a Pinner Blog

Round 2

Chain 6. Skip the first chain and half double crochet into the second chain to form the first pedal.

Chain 4. Skip one chain and half double crochet into the next chain.

Chain 5. Skip one chain and half double crochet into the next chain.

Chain 4. Skip one chain and half double crochet into the next chain.

Repeat until you have formed the 8 petals. The first chain is the only petal with a chain of six. After the first petal the pattern goes 4, 5, 4, 5, 4, 5,  and 4.

Slip stitch your last chain of 4 into the first your first chain 6.

Adventures of a Pinner BlogAdventures of a Pinner Blog

Adventures of a Pinner BlogAdventures of a Pinner Blog

Round 3

Double crochet 3 times into the first petal. Chain 3. Double crochet 3 into the petal and slip stitch into the first chain of the next petal.

Single crochet into the second petal. Double crochet 2 times. Chain 1. Double crochet 2 times. Single crochet and slip stitch into the first chain of the next petal.

Repeat this pattern. When you finish petal number 8 slip stitch into the first chain of the first petal and tie off your first motif!

adventures of a pinner blogadventures of a pinner blog

flower crochet baby afghan by adventures of a pinner blogCrochet Flower baby blanket by Adventures of a Pinner Blog

Connect Squares

You can connect the motifs two ways: diamond or square. I personally like the diamond method. The pattern also calls for optional tassels but I’m not really a fan of the tassels. Join the pointed petals to pointed petals and round petals to round petals.

I’m happy with the finished product! I am making a blanket for myself with this pattern in coral, light blue and cream. I’ll share photos when I’m done!

crochet flower baby blanket pattern on Adventures of a Pinner blog

Let me know if you have any questions about the pattern in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

