spring cupcake ideas
Image

spring cupcake idea

These hydrangea cupcakes are great for spring and they are pretty easy too!

I always use Wilton’s Buttercream Frosting recipe for my cakes/cupcakes. It tastes much better then the tubs of frosting from the store and it holds its shape!

Whip up your frosting and divide 50/50. I made blue and purple frosting but you can use any variation you’d like (I want to make a dark pink and light pink next time!). I highly recommend using gel coloring. You can find it at your local craft store in the baking section. The gel colors don’t change the consistency of your frosting like liquid food coloring. Gel coloring is highly concentrated so you don’t need much. I used 4 drops of blue, I didn’t have purple coloring so to achieve purple I mixed 2 drops of red and 2 drops of blue. I felt like a kindergardener mixing the colors!

spring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas

spring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas spring cupcake ideas

spring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas

Now get your piping bag ready! I used a closed star tip and my Featherweight bag. I love my reusable bag and if you’re piping multiple times a year it’s worth picking one up. If you don’t have piping bags you can use a gallon size freezer bag. Just cut one of the bottom corners to fit your tip.

The next step was a little tricky for me and the result wasn’t perfect. You need to fill your frosting bag with one color on each side. I put the blue frosting in the bag first followed by the purple. The blue frosting moved down ahead of the purple and my first couple cupcakes were completely blue. However, the great thing about this frosting recipe is the extra frosting! Typically I can make about 4 or 5 practice designs on a paper plate first which helps remove any air bubbles in your bag and practice makes perfect!

spring cupcake ideascupcake ideas

cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas

These are ridiculously easy to pipe! Break it down into three rounds.

First, simply squeeze out little flowers until the entire cupcake is covered.

Second, search for the spots that look sparse. Make more flowers in the areas where you can still see the cake.

Third, balance out the shape. Usually an additional two or three flowers on the very top will give you that nice rounded shape.

spring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas

spring cupcake ideasspring cupcake ideas

That’s it! As you can see in the photo above my cupcakes started mostly blue and ended mostly purple. Which was obviously not the plan but I kind of like them. Each one has it’s own unique coloring.

Let me know if you have any questions in the comment section below!

 

Leave a Reply

