Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner Blog
Image

spray paint lamp and lamp shade

I am thrilled about this DIY project! This combines everything that I love in a good do it yourself:

  • Inexpensive. I only spent $20 to create this look, $11 for spray paint, I found the lamp shade for $4 at Goodwill and the lamp base for $5 at a garage sale.
  • Fast and easy. From start to finish it took me around 30 minutes to transform my items.
  • Repurpose and Recycle. I gave these tired pieces a dramatic transformation with two cans of spray paint.

What supplies you’ll need: spray paint (I’m fond of Rust-oleum, I used Coral and Pure Gold), 2 plastic shopping bags and painters/scotch tape.

Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner BlogSpray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade

Before you paint anything you must do some cleaning prep. Wipe down all dust and debris for a smooth finish.

The lamp stand was easy. You will probably want to tape or cover the electrical cord to protect it from paint. I painted my cord gold, it was originally brown. Why have a brown cord when I can have a golden cord! #AllGoldEverything

Hold the can about 6-8 inches from the base to prevent too much paint build up. Go over the area 2-3 times to ensure the color is consistent and even.

Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner BlogSpray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner Blog

The inner lamp shade needs to be covered. If any paint gets on the inside you will be able to see it when the lamp is turned on. Plastic grocery bags were the perfect size for my lamp shade. You may need to cut the bag to increase the circumference if you have a bigger shade.

Insert the bag into the shade. Fold down the handles. Tape down the edges of the bag with painters or scotch tape until the  Repeat for the other side!

Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner BlogSpray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner Blog

Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner BlogSpray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner Blog

Spray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner BlogSpray Paint Lamp and Lamp Shade by Adventures of a Pinner Blog

Let your project dry for at least 24 hours! I would love to see how you transform an old, tired lamp with spray paint! Share your work with me!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

